Beet Mead is Greedy!

I got home today and my fourth batch of mead (though you must understand I only started making my first batch about a month ago) had—okay, backing up.

If you don’t know what I’m talking about mead is a honey alcohol (grapes lead to wine, hops to beer, honey to mead).  This particular batch of mead on my counter is going through its primary fermentation stage (stick it all in a bucket with yeast and let the yeast eat the honey to create the wonderfulness of alcohol).  I’m experimenting – it’s primary ingredient (besides the honey) is beets.

Yes, this is strange, but what’s life without a little experimentation?

So I set it all in motion on Sunday.  Today is Wednesday.  Now I don’t know much about ‘normal’.  This is only my fourth time ever and I don’t know the results yet for my first batches.  But what I’ve been told is that you wait about a week and a half before ‘racking’ the mead which means putting it in a glass jar with an airlock on it to head into the land of secondary fermentation (okay, I’m guessing at the label but it seems reasonable).

Again, today is Wednesday.  It’s been 4 days.  4.  And the damn mead ate all the honey.  It was buzzing so strong for the first three days that it was like a group of bees.  Or the fizz from a shook up can of pop where the fizzing didn’t stop.  This was like 10 days of fermenting done in 4.  Greedy mead.

Greedy!

As for writing?

105 words on the couch, WIP:  Agent of Fate. It’s a pathetic number.  But it’s still a number.  I’ll take it.

2 responses to “Beet Mead is Greedy!

  1. Mead can be very hungry at times… as a fellow novice mead-maker, this is all very confusing… LOL

    Hopefully it works out beautifully.

    🙂

  2. It is confusing! I think I have been underestimating honey consumption, particularly in the very fruity meads (shouldn’t the fruity ones need less honey? but no! instead the yeast goes on an eating spree and poof! it’s all gone). Absolutely no idea how the beat one will taste. But I can live with that.

Leave a Reply

