Enjoying a moment of satisfaction

That’s right, I am.

I got my word quota done tonight by 9 p.m.  9!  Not 10, not 10:30 or even 11, but 9!  I’ve only been home since 6:30 and had to get some dinner in there.  9.  So fabulous.

And you know what’s even better?  I did almost all of it while walking on the treadmill.  Treaddesks are definitely way to go.  I got in my exercise and my words.

But the point of this blog post is to remind me (and any of you who care to be reminded) that it’s important to take these moments of satisfaction and suck them bone f*cking dry.

As writer’s we drive ourselves crazy, are always faced with that ‘but there’s x more still to do’, never actually done working feeling.  Like being in University all over again when there was always another paper, another exam, another chapter to read waiting for your attention.

When these moments of satisfaction happen they have to be grabbed and savoured.  I want to crawl into it and wrap myself in it, roll around and coat myself in it, drink it until heady with it.

And how did I spend my extra time?  Why writing about it, of course!

Leave a Reply

