Two Steps Forward…Or Was That Sideways?

I finished (finally) reading Bob Mayer‘s the Writer’s Toolkit on Monday night.  Yes, I was partially avoiding my current WIP due to the aggravation that results from spending too much time with only one thing for too long.  Rather like being cooped up in a small white room with one other person for days on end.  Sometimes you can get a bit testy with the other person.  I was testy with my novel.

So I finished reading the Toolkit’s final chapters which focused more on submissions, the next and terrifying step of the publishing process that I must face.  And did it help me get ready for the publishing side?

Perhaps.

But what it really did was give me even better insight into ways to tighten up the ending of my book and a few other ‘flavor’ changes to make to the story.  Those changes that are relatively small (no big plot changes) but that add depth or intrigue or emotion to the story.

<bangs head on desk>

Not that these ideas aren’t great, they are!  But that means going back through again.  I’m caught between the desire to finish!!!! and the need to take a break.

This past week would appear to be a break as I did not finish my editing as intended.  But don’t let appearances fool you!  The story, Broken Blessings is the title btw, has been simmering on the burner (not even the back burner) as it works on telling me what it needs.  Or vice versa.

There is definitely a frustration to the feeling that every time I feel that I’m getting close to done, that some new realization comes to the fore and I’m back into the editing trenches.

When I finished actually writing the novel (first draft), there was this toe-to-hair-tingling sense of achievement.  Does that ever happen with editing?

I hope to find out.  And soon.  But not as soon as I’d originally thought.  Because in the end, I want to be selling the best story possible.

Back to the land of the red pen I go.  Tomorrow.  Tonight I think I’ll just relax and try not to think about it at all.  A night off.  Sounds good, don’t you think?

~Samantha

2 responses to “Two Steps Forward…Or Was That Sideways?

  1. I have been in roughly the same place with my novel – slogging through the last round of edits, when I thought that the previous round was the “last” round of edits. Mind you, I caught a little continuity glitch the last time through that should have smacked me in the face, oh, about three revisions ago, so I know I’m not just dithering around trying to make it “perfect” so I don’t have to risk sending it out. But argh, I want it done and yet I really needed to take the last couple of days off. Luckily (?) a little summer cold forced my hand in that regard, and left me too brain-fogged to edit. 🙂 Yay?

  2. Oh, big yay! It’s great when life forces a round of relaxation on you.

    Mind you, the last time that happened to me in a big way I started a podcast. 😀 Cuz, you know, I didn’t have enough to do. I know you understand that!

    I’m also getting better with each go around, so it’s not a perfection seeking thing. But dammit, can’t I be perfect and be done already?

    On a less whiny front, I do find that I need digestion time during the editing process. Do some, let it sit, see what suddenly strikes me as poorly plotted or needing some oomf. Where letting it sit is more like having a constant running check in the back of my head figuring things out.

Leave a Reply

